Department of Horticulture

The establishment of the Horticulture Department dates back to 1954, as one of the two sections of the Plant Production Department, but in 1970, both the Horticulture and Field Crops departments were founded. The Horticulture Dept. is composed of three branches, Pomology, Vegetables and Ornamental plants and medicinal. The department occupies several buildings comprising many labs; postharvest horticulture products, fertilization, pomology, tissue culture, medicinal and aromatic plants as well as many plastic glass seran an lath houses for ornamental and vegetables crops. Beside, the department includes Arid land unit, soilless culture center and strawberry and nontraditional crops center. The department grants the B.Sc. degree in Horticulture.